Kansas begins 18-day statewide crackdown on drunk drivers

Marc LaVoie
August 17, 2018 - 11:41 am
Categories: 

Law enforcement agencies across Kansas are beginning a crackdown on drunk driving that will continue through Labor Day, Sept. 3.

The annual campaign is called, "You drink. You drive. You LOSE." More than 150 agencies across the state are increasing the number of officers on the roads, to watch for signs of impaired driving.

 


 

Labor Day is one of the most dangerous times of the year to be on the road. Two years ago, more than a third of fatalities over the Labor Day holiday weekend involved a driver whose blood alcohol content was .08 or greater.

“Drunk driving is not a victimless crime and is 100 percent preventable,” said Chris Bortz, KDOT Traffic Safety Program Manager, in a news release.

Impaired drivers who are caught can face time in jail, suspension of driving privileges, plus fines and other costs of up to $10,000. Offenders are also required to install and pay monthly service fees on ignition interlock devices. 

Comments ()